Frequently Asked Questions

The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapists (KBLMT) has compiled a
list of frequently asked questions to assist you in finding answers to your licensure
guestions quickly.

The questions have been categorized for easier reference. Find the category that

relates to your question and use control/click to go the questions related to that
subject.

The final authority is, of course the statutes and regulations that regulation the
practice of massage therapy in Kentucky.
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GENERAL QUESTIONS

Q. Where can | find Kentucky’s Laws regarding Massage Therapy?

A: The most up-to-date and accurate copy of the Kentucky Massage Therapy statutes and administrative
regulations are found on the Legislative Review Committee (LRC) website http://Irc.ky.gov. An unofficial

copy can be found on the KBLMT website, http://bmt.ky.gov. Look under Resources on the Yellow

Navigation ribbon at the top of the Home page.

Q: What is the difference between a statute and a regulation?
A: Astatute is a law enacted by the legislature. The statute determines the law and the regulation
explains how the law is to be implemented.

Q. What do the letters KRS or KAR stand for?

A: KRS stands for Kentucky Revised Statutes and KAR means Kentucky Administrative Regulations.
Massage Therapy in Kentucky is governed by statutes KRS 309.350 to 309.364. Massage Therapy
statues are administered by regulations 201 KAR 42:010 to 201KAR 42:110.

Q: Can | get a complete copy of the laws and regulations?

A: The most up-to-date and accurate copy of the Kentucky Massage Therapy statutes and administrative
regulations are found on the Legislative Review Committee (LRC) website http://Irc.ky.gov. An unofficial

copy can be found under Resources on the Yellow Navigation ribbon at the top of the Home page.

Q. What does it cost to be licensed in Kentucky? (fee schedule)

FEE SCHEDULE EFFECTIVE 2013

Licensing Fees (KRS 309.357) Non-Refundable

Initial Licensure Fee $125.00
License via Endorsement $125.00
Renewal Fees (201KAR 42:020)

Biennial Renewal Fee (on or before renewal date) $100.00
Late Renewal Fee (after renewal date up to 60 days) $150.00
Late Renewal Fee (61-90 days after expiration) $200.00
Late Renewal Fee (after 90 days with New Application for Licensure) $200.00
Active to Inactive Status Fee (must have active license) S 35.00
Renewal of Inactive Status Fee $ 35.00
Late Renewal Fee for Inactive Status (up to 60 days) $ 52.50
Late Renewal Fee for Inactive Status (61-90 days) S 70.00
Inactive to Active Status (shall not be prorated) S 50.00
| Other Fees

Verification of Licensure from another state $15.00
Duplicate Wall Certificate $15.00
CD List of Active Licensees $15.00
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Q. What is the definition of “massage therapy”?

A: Our law defines the practice of massage therapy as “the application, by a massage therapist licensed
by the board, of a system of structured touch, pressure, movement, and holding to the soft tissues of
the human body with the intent to enhance or restore the health and well-being of the client. The
practice includes the external application of water, heat, cold, lubricants, salt scrubs, or other topical
preparations; use of electromechanical devices that mimic or enhance the actions of the hands; and
determination of whether massage therapy is appropriate or contraindicated, or whether referral to
another health care practitioner is appropriate.” KRS 309.350 (7)

An important distinction is that you are licensed to perform massage therapy on the human body only.
Animal massage is excluded from our law.

Q. Who can legally practice massage in Kentucky?

A: You must hold a current license issued by the Commonwealth of Kentucky to practice massage
therapy in Kentucky.

There are exemptions for practitioners of the following occupations and professions which are regulated
by state law, while engaging in the practices for which they are duly licensed and while not holding
themselves out to be massage therapists:

A: Physicians, osteopaths, podiatrists, and athletic trainers regulated under KRS Chapter 311;

b. Chiropractors regulated under KRS Chapter 312;

c. Registered nurses and practical nurses regulated under KRS Chapter 314;

d. Barbers, cosmetologists, and estheticians regulated under KRS Chapters 317, 317A, and 317B
respectively;

e. Occupational therapists regulated under KRS Chapter 319A; and

f. Physical therapists regulated under KRS Chapter 327. KRS 309.350(5).

Q: Under what circumstances may massage therapists licensed in another state practice in Kentucky?

A: Credentialed therapists who are in Kentucky as part of an emergency response team, charity event,
athletic event, or artistic performance are exempt. Therapists teaching a course or consulting with a
licensed massage therapist in Kentucky are also exempt.

Q. Who may advertise massage therapy services?

A: Only licensed massage therapist may advertise. “No person or business entity is allowed to advertise
“massage therapy” unless the massage is being performed by a licensed massage therapist” KRS
309.353(3).
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Q. How long does the licensing process take?

A: The licensing process takes a minimum of one month and may take longer. It is necessary to have
the application reviewed by the Applications Committee and approved by the full Board. If the
application is not received in time to be placed on the agenda, it will be delayed an extra month. Other
reasons for delays include lack of transcripts or test results, an improperly completed form, and failure
to sign, notarize or include fee payment. You should plan to renew 60 days early to allow for any
scheduling or processing glitches that might delay your application’s approval.

Q: What happens to my application when it is received?

A: The application first goes to the Division’s Fiscal Section where the payment is received and posted.
Next it is sent to the Board Administrator who reviews the application documents and prepares the file,
combining any documents that might have been sent separately. A status letter is sent to the applicant
notifying them of the completeness of the file. At the next Applications Committee meeting, the
application is reviewed to ensure that Kentucky’s requirements are met and a recommendation is made
for approval, deferral or denial. The committee then reports its findings at the next full licensure board
meeting and the board votes on the committee’s recommendations. Following the Board meeting,
approved licenses are posted on the website. Plan to allow at least one month for the approval process.

Q: Will application information and/or the status of an application be given to a 3" party?

A: No. Information and/or status can only be released to the applicant.
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LICENSURE QUALIFICATIONS

Q: What are the required qualifications for licensure in Kentucky?

A: Alicense may be granted to an individual by an initial application or by license via endorsement. The
general requirements for securing a license are that the applicant:

A: |s eighteen (18) years of age or older,

b. Has paid the application fee and other fees required by the Board,

c. Is a person of good moral character,

d. Has successfully completed a course of study, consisting of a minimum of six hundred (600) hours of
supervised instruction in a massage therapy training program approved by the Board, and

e. Has successfully passed an examination approved by the Board such as the National Examination for
State License (NESL) or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx). See 201 KAR 42:035, Sec. 3
(3) for a complete list of approved exams.

Q. What is the process for becoming licensed in Kentucky?

A: Once the application is received in Frankfort, it goes to the Finance Section where the fee is
processed. After that the application is sent to the Board Administrator for preparation of the file. The
documents are then reviewed for completeness and any documents received separately are attached.
The applicant is notified of the status at this time. At the next Applications Committee meeting, the
application is reviewed to ensure Kentucky’s requirements are met and recommendation made for
approval, deferral or denial. The committee then reports its findings at the next full licensure Board
meeting and the Board votes on the committee’s recommendations. Following the Board meeting,
approved licenses are posted on the website. Plan to allow at least sixty days for the approval process.

Q: Does the Board accept applications from those who have passed the MBLEX or NESL and submitted
a transcript for 600 hours but have not completed the school’s 750/800 hour program?

A: No. You must successfully complete a course of study and if the course of study involves additional
hours above the 600 hours required for licensure, you must still complete the course of study. KRS
309.358(4)

Q. I am licensed in another state. Can | transfer my license to Kentucky?

A: ltis possible to obtain a Kentucky license through License via Endorsement, a method of application
for a massage therapist who is currently licensed, certified or registered in another state and wants
to obtain a license to practice in Kentucky. For more answers regarding an application via
endorsement, see Licensure via Endorsement.

Q: What are the curriculum requirements for a Kentucky massage therapy school?

A: Kentucky law requires a minimum of 600 clock hours in the initial massage therapy education
program. This includes a minimum of:
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One hundred twenty-five (125) hours of anatomy, physiology, or kinesiology;

A two hundred (200) hour course to include massage theory, technique, and practice focusing on gliding
strokes, kneading, direct pressure, deep friction, joint movement, superficial warming techniques,
percussion, compression, vibration, jostling, shaking, and rocking;

Two hundred (200) hours of approach to the business of massage, specifically including
contraindications, benefits, business, history, ethics, client documentation, legalities of massage, and
modality courses designed to meet the school's specific program objectives;

Forty (40) hours of pathology; and

The school may use its discretion in allotting the additional thirty-five (35) curricular hours that are
required under KRS 309.358.

Q: What are the requirements for instructional staff in Kentucky’s massage therapy schools?

A: Instructors of the practical courses shall be licensed massage therapists and shall have three (3) years
of experience in the practice of massage therapy.

Instructors of science courses shall be either licensed massage therapists with three (3) years of
experience in the practice of massage therapy or have certification or specific higher education in the
subject they are teaching. Instructors in adjunctive courses shall have subject-specific education and
experience. KRS 309.363

Q: How can I find a massage therapy school in Kentucky?

A: You can find a listing of Approved Schools on our website http://bmt.ky.gov. On the Yellow
Navigation ribbon at the top of the Home page, select Resources, then select Approved Schools.

According to KRS 309.363, the school must be licensed to operate by the Kentucky State Board for
Proprietary Education, or the Council on Postsecondary Education, or their equivalent in another state.

Q: How can | make my license application process flow smoothly?

A: You can help to ensure a smooth process if you give attention to details by doing the following:

o

Make sure the form is completely filled out with no blanks, signed, dated, and notarized.
b. Write or type legibly. This is an official document, please make it legible and do not have
other material on the back of the pages.
c. Remember to include your fee with your application.
d. If you have a felony/misdemeanor conviction, court documents that show the disposition of your
case must be attached.
e. If you mail an official transcript from your school with your application, it must be in a sealed official
envelope, sealed by the school. If you have opened the envelope it is no longer an official copy so
don’t peek. You can also ask you school to mail your transcript directly to the licensing Board.
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f. Some colleges and schools show course completion in credit hours rather than the clock or contact
hours required by the KBLMT. If your school transcript does not show a conversion from credit
hours to contact or clock hours, ask them to provide that information for you. Your application
cannot be considered until that information is provided. Schools, other than approved Kentucky
schools, must send in transcripts with CLOCK HOURS and a description of the course content where
the courses contain multiple subjects within the course.

g. Be sure toinclude evidence that you passed your qualifying exam (ex. NCBTMB, NESL or MBLEX)

h. Respond quickly to letters sent by the Board.

Q: My payment has been cashed. Does that mean that | am licensed?

A: No. When your application is received in Frankfort, your application goes to the Fiscal Section first,
where your payment is removed and posted. This happens before the Board Administrator even sees
your application. Should your application be denied, your money will be refunded.

Q: What do | receive from the Board to verify that | am licensed?

A: Upon initial licensing, a licensee shall be furnished with a letter of acceptance and a wall certificate to
be displayed at the primary massage therapy service location. Official verification is posted on the
website http://bmt.ky.gov.

Upon each subsequent renewal, official verification of licensure status shall be available on the Board's
website, http://bmt.ky.gov. You can find it under “online license verification” 5-7 days following
approval by the board.

Effective June 2, 2012 the issuance of wallet cards was discontinued. If you want to present proof of
licensure you can print out your license verification information from the website.

Q: How do I verify that | am licensed or that my license is current?

A: You can verify your license by going to http://bmt.ky.gov. On the Home page you will see a Quick
Link to on-line verification. Click that link, and then follow the directions.
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INITIAL LICENSE PROCESS

Q: How do I apply for an initial license?

A: Applications for an initial license can be found on the website by going to http://bmt.ky.gov. Select

“resources” from the yellow navigation ribbon at the top of the page. Next select Applications and
Forms. From the form library, select and print the Application for Licensure as a Massage Therapist.
Follow the directions on the form.

Q: What documentation is required for an initial license?

>

: Before your license will be issued by the Board, you must submit the following documentation:
A completed and notarized Application Form,

N

Transcripts from your school/college or certificate showing completion of at least 600 classroom
hours, itemizing compliance with the clock hour requirements in KRS 309.363(1)(b), and

3. Proof that you have passed an examination approved by the Board.

4. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must submit documentation indicating the disposition of
the case.

Q: | already have copies of my test results and my transcript. Can | just send those with my
application to save time?

A: Normally the testing agency and the school from which you graduated must send the documents
directly to the licensure Board. There is an exception. If the document that you have in your possession
is in a sealed envelope with the school’s letterhead, you may forward it with your application.

Q: | didn’t attend school in Kentucky. Can I still get a license?
A: Yes, you may apply for a license if you meet Kentucky’s standards for licensure outlined in KRS
309.358.

Q: | have been practicing massage in a state that does not have licensure; can | get a Kentucky
License?

A: Yes, you may apply for a license if you meet Kentucky’s standards for licensure outlined in KRS
309.358.

Q: Does the Board accept licensure applications from students graduating from a school that does not
hold a Certificate of Good Standing?

A. This would be determined on a case-by-case basis. KRS 309.363
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Q: What is a Certificate of Good Standing?

A: A Certificate of Good Standing is a document that is issued by the Kentucky Board of Licensure for
Massage Therapists to a massage therapy training program, showing that it meets the curriculum,
instructor qualifications, and guidelines established by KRS 309.363.

Q: What happens if my school has closed and | need documentation?
A: Contact the Commission on Proprietary Education or the Counsel on Post-Secondary Education or
equivalent in the jurisdiction where you attended school.
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LICENSE VIA ENDORSEMENT

Q: What is license via endorsement?

A: License by endorsement is a method for obtaining a license to practice in Kentucky when a massage
therapist is currently licensed, certified, or registered in another state.

Q: How do | apply for a license via endorsement?

A: License via endorsement uses the same form as an initial licensee. From the Resources menu on the
Home page select “Applications & Forms.” From the Form Library on that page, select the form for
“Application for Licensure as a Massage Therapist” form.

Q: What documentation is required for a license via endorsement?

A: If you are licensed in a state that has equal or greater standards you can apply by submitting the
following:
e A completed “Application for Licensure as a Massage Therapist” Form, signed and notarized.
e A certified statement from your current credentialing body showing that you are in good
standing sent directly from the credentialing body to the KBLMT.
e The non-refundable Application Fee of $125.00.

In addition, if you are licensed in a state whose standards are less stringent than Kentucky standards,
you should submit the following:
e A completed “Application for Licensure as a Massage Therapist” Form, signed and notarized.
e A List of each massage school attended and official transcripts sent directly from the school.
e Licensing/certifying exam results sent directly to the board from the agency who administers the
exam. NOTE: Copies sent by you may be considered “unofficial.”
e A certified statement from your current credentialing body sent directly to the KBLMT showing
that you are in good standing.
e Other documents that show of evidence your training and experience. Possible documents
include:
Copies of CE transcripts or certificates not included in initial training
Certified transcript of healthcare related academic coursework
Proof of teaching massage-relevant coursework
Research
Clinical internships
Publications
Massage therapy leadership positions

O O O O O O O O

Evidence of hands-on therapeutic massage or bodywork sessions, such as Log or
Appointment books and/or Employer verification of experience

o NOTE: Hands-on experience must equal at least 4 years in lieu of other evidence.
e The non-refundable Application Fee of $125.00.
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e If you have been convicted of a felony, you must submit documentation indicating the
disposition of the case. You may refer to 201 KAR 42:070 Endorsement regulations for more
details.
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RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Q: When do | have to renew my Kentucky license?

A: Licenses are required to be renewed biennially from your initial date of licensure. The date you are
licensed will always be your anniversary date and will not change, even if you renew early, renew late or
become inactive.

Q: How do | know when my license expires?

A: Approximately 8 weeks before your renewal date you should receive a reminder card from the
KBLMT. If you do not receive it you should:

a: Make sure KBLMT has you current mailing address (you are obligated by law to notify them within
30 days of any name or address change)

b. Keep in mind that your address could be wrong because of clerical errors. Be proactive and follow
up.

c. Verify your current license status and date of licensure expiration by visiting http://bmt.ky.gov.
Click on Licensure Verification, select the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy, enter
your name then click search. The expiration date and licensure status will appear at the bottom of
the screen.

d. Check your license status online for accuracy and report any erroneous postings.
Q: What are the methods for renewing my license?

A: Currently all renewal applications must be mailed. Because of problems with software that are
beyond the Board’s control, on-line license renewal has been suspended. All renewal applications
must be mailed until further notice.

MAILED RENEWAL: To renew by mail, first print a copy of the “Application for Renewal” form found on
the KBLMT website at http://bmt.ky.gov. On the Home page, select “Resources”, and from the drop-
down menu, select “Applications and Forms”. On that page, select “Application for Renewal”. You can
print out the document and complete it manually. Send the completed application to the Board office
along with the appropriate renewal fee, $100.00 for an on-time renewal application. The renewal fee
for a license that has been expired up to 60 days, is one hundred and fifty dollars (5150.00). If you are
renewing 61-90 days after expiration, the renewal fee is two-hundred dollars (5200.00).Mail your
application to the correct address.

USPS, certified, return receipt requested, mail Overnight & Special Mailing such as UPS, FedEXx,
to: etc.

KBLMT KBLMT

Division of Occupations and Professions Division of Occupations and Professions

P.O. Box 1360 911 Leawood Dr.

Frankfort, KY 40602 Frankfort, KY 40602
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On your renewal application you must document twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education
achieved credit, earned since your last renewal date. You must clearly identify at least three (3) of the
24 in ethics, required by statute. Inactive license applications are exempt from this requirement.

Q: What are the continuing education (CE) requirements for renewal?

A: You must document the achievement of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education credit.
Statute requires at least three (3) of the 24 hours must be completed in ethics. Inactive license
applications are exempt from this requirement.

Q: How do | use “carry over” hours?

A: You are permitted to “carry over” up to twelve (12) CE hours of continuing education into the next

renewal period. There is one exception: you cannot split the hours earned in a single class between two
renewal periods.

Example 1: If you took a 30 CE hour class, you cannot apply some of the hours in this renewal
period and the remaining the next.

Example 2: If you had already fulfilled your 24 CE hour requirement with other classes, and you
still have an entire extra 30 hour class you have not used, you can apply 12 hours of that extra
class toward the next renewal period.

If you are carrying over hours earned in the previous renewal period, do the following.
e C(Clearly identify “Carry over” courses, totaling no more than 12 hours.
e Enter name of the course, the actual dates that the class was taken, and the number of hours
carried over.
e Attach an additional page if needed.
e Total the number of hours taken.
e Itis unnecessary to send copies of the certificates, unless you are audited.
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THE AUDITED LICENSE
Q: Why is my renewal form stamped “AUDIT”?

A: Individuals are chosen at random by the Board’s database system to determine if licensees are
meeting the requirements of KRS 309.350 to 309.364 and they are sent a renewal notice stamped
“AUDIT.”

Q What will I need to do if | am being audited?
A: Your renewal process is the same, EXCEPT for the following:
1. If your renewal form is stamped “AUDIT”, your application for renewal must be mailed.

2. You must submit proof of completion for each course you document in the continuing education
section of the renewal form. Send copies only and keep originals in your file.

3. You have thirty (30) days to respond to the Audit notification.
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EXPIRING LICENSE QUESTIONS

Q: | just realized my license will expire soon. | completed my renewal application and paid my fee
online so can | continue to practice massage therapy?

A: Your license expires the day after the anniversary date of your initial license. There is no grace period
in our law. You must have an active license to practice massage therapy and all applications must go
before the Board for approval prior to the renewal date.

201 KAR 42:040, Section 3 states “If payment and complete information are not received by the Board
on or before the anniversary date of the issuance of the license, the license shall expire and the person
shall not practice nor represent themselves as a massage therapist in Kentucky”.

To learn the next Board meeting date, you can check the board meeting dates at http://bmt.ky.gov by
clicking the Quick Link on the Home page. Then schedule your application accordingly. For example, if
your renewal date is March 1, your renewal application must be approved at the February meeting to
maintain an uninterrupted license.

Q: My application was received in the Board office but the Board has not had the meeting to approve
pending applications. Can I still practice?

A: Renewals must be approved by the Board and you must have an active license in order to practice
legally in Kentucky. Licensees are encouraged to apply for renewal 60 days in advance of the expiration
date.
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LICENSE DISCIPLINE & DENIAL

Q: Under what grounds may the Board refuse to issue a license?

A: The Board may deny or refuse to renew a license when the licensee has engaged in unprofessional
conduct that has endangered or is likely to endanger the health, welfare, or safety of the public.

The Massage Therapy statute describes unprofessional conduct to include any of the following:

(a) Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by fraud, misrepresentation, concealment of material
facts, or making a false statement to the Board;

(b) Being convicted of a felony in any court if the act or acts for which the licensee or applicant for
license was convicted are determined by the Board to have a direct bearing on whether the person is
trustworthy to serve the public as a licensed massage therapist. "Conviction," as used in this paragraph,
shall include a finding or verdict of guilty, an admission of guilt, or a plea of nolo contendere in a court of
law;

(c) Violating any lawful order or administrative regulation promulgated by the Board;
(d) Violating any provision of this chapter or administrative regulations promulgated thereunder;

(e) Having sexual contact as defined by KRS 510.010(7) with a client or having engaged or attempted to
engage in lewd or immoral conduct with any client or patient;

(f) Engaging in fraud or material deception in the delivery of professional services, including
reimbursement or advertising services, in a false or misleading manner;

(g) Evidence of gross negligence or gross incompetence in the practice of massage therapy; or

(h) Violating the standards of practice or the code of ethics as promulgated by administrative regulation.
KRS 309.362.

In addition to denial of a license, the Board may take other actions. The Board may suspend or revoke a
license, may issue an administrative reprimand, or may impose probationary conditions or fines not to
exceed five hundred dollars ($500).

Q. Can my license application be denied due to a criminal conviction?

A: License applications that are filed with the Board that indicate previous criminal actions are handled
on a case-by-case basis. If you have a past criminal record, it must be reported on the Application Form.
If it is a felony, you must attach an explanation and official court documents showing the disposition of
the case. If the conviction involves a misdemeanor, you must attach an explanation and a copy of
official court documents showing the disposition of the case. Documents are not required if the
conviction involves a minor traffic violation not involving drugs or alcohol. Lack of full disclosure
regarding the issue at the time of your application filing may result in delays in processing or denial.
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Q: If my application is denied, do | have the right to appeal the Board’s decision?

A: If your license application has been denied, you may appeal the Board’s decision by submitting a
written request for appeal within thirty (30) days of the denial in accordance with KRS 309.362(4).
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INACTIVE LICENSE STATUS

Q: What are the differences between an active license and an inactive license?

A: An active licensee may practice massage therapy and is called a licensed massage therapist or L.M.T.
An individual who holds an inactive license is NOT entitled to use the title licensed massage therapist
and may not engage in the practice of massage therapy. However, an individual who holds an inactive
license may be reinstated to active status by merely showing evidence of the appropriate continuing
education and paying the required fees, provided fewer than five years have elapsed since holding an
active license.

Q: When is it useful to move to inactive status?

A: If you are unable to practice and earn continuing education hours for a period of time, it may be
useful to choose inactive status. Our law states that “Any licensed massage therapist who does not
desire to meet the qualifications for active license renewal shall, upon application and payment of an
inactive renewal fee, be issued an inactive license. The license shall not entitle the license holder to use
the term "licensed massage therapist" nor to engage in the practice of massage therapy”.

It is unnecessary to state a reason for moving to inactive status.
Q: What is the fee structure for inactive status?

A: Inactive licensees must renew annually, instead of biannually and the fees are as follows:

The fee for an inactive license is $35.00 per year.
The fee for a late inactive renewal between 1-60 days is $52.50 per year.
The fee for 61-90 days late is $70.00 per year.

The application fee for moving from inactive status to active status is $50.00 and shall not be prorated.
Q: What is the process for moving from active status to inactive status?

A:_Alicensee must hold an active license in order to apply for inactive status. To request inactive status,

on the Renewal Form, check inactive status, include the inactive status fee, and mail the application.

Q: Will my renewal date for an inactive license be the date | went inactive or the original date of issue
of my license?

A: The annual renewal date for an inactive license shall remain the original date of issue for the license.
Q: What are the continuing education (CE) requirements for inactive status?

A: There are no annual requirements for continuing education while you hold an inactive license.
However, in order to regain active status, you must show evidence of completing one (1) hour of
continuing education for each month the license has been inactive, not to exceed five years (60
months).
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Waivers or extensions of continuing education requirements may be approved at the discretion of the
Board.

Q: How long may | remain inactive?

A: You may hold an inactive license for up to five years. Beyond five (5) years the licensee shall meet
the requirements for an initial license in order to secure an active license. KRS 309.358

Q: Can I change status at any time or do | need to wait until it is time to renew?

A: A person holding an inactive license may reapply for active status at any time. There is a $50.00
application fee for moving a license from Inactive status to Active status. The fee may not be prorated.
The anniversary renewal date, established at the time the original license was issued, will remain the
licensee’s renewal date.

Q: What is the process for moving from inactive status to active status?
A: Before returning to active status, the licensee must:

Provide proof of continuing education as required by KRS 309 362(3);
Complete the “Application for Inactive or Return to Active Status” Form;
Pay the fee for active status fee as prescribed in KAR 42:020, Section 2(7);

o 0 T W

Receive Board approval.
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COMPLAINTS AGAINST UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS

Q: Who can initiate a complaint against an unlicensed individual?

A: A complaint can be initiated by an individual, a state or government agency, a member of the
massage therapy profession, or the Board per 201 KAR 42:050, Section 2.

Q: Can a complaint against an unlicensed individual be initiated anonymously?

A: Yes, complaints filed against unlicensed individuals can be submitted to the Board anonymously
provided the complaint form is completed and submitted with some form of evidence, i.e. photo of a
business sign with the name of the massage therapist, business card, advertisement, and a statement
explaining the circumstances and reason for the complaint.

Q: | see numerous advertisements in newspapers and other media for massage therapy by unlicensed
individuals. May | submit copies of this information to the Board for appropriate action?

A: Yes. Asstated in KRS 309.353(4), “Any advertisement or sign to induce the public into believing that
one is a massage therapist shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this section if the person
making the advertisement or displaying the sign is not licensed to practice massage therapy in
accordance with KRS 309.350 to 309.364”.

The Board encourages the public to report unlicensed practice. It is requested that you verify that the
person is indeed unlicensed by checking the online licensure verification at http://bmt.ky.gov and

complete the complaint form before submitting the advertisements to the Board office for action.
According to 201 KAR 42:060, Section 1 (5) the LMT has an ethical obligation to report unlicensed
practice and states that a Licensed Massage Therapist shall “make every reasonable effort to report
unlicensed practice of massage therapy to the Board”.

Keep in mind that each situation is handled on a case-by-case basis.
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COMPLAINTS AGAINST LICENSED THERAPISTS

Q: | have a complaint and | would like to file against a licensed massage therapist. What is the
procedure for filing a complaint?

A: You may file a complaint with the Board by submitting the required complaint form found at
http://bmt.ky.gov.

Once the complaint has been filed, a copy of the complaint will be submitted to the L.M.T. in question,
for a response. Once this response has been received, the complaint and the response will be reviewed
by the Complaint Committee at its next regularly scheduled meeting and the committee will determine
what action will be taken.

Q: Can a complaint against an LMT be initiated anonymously?

A: Anonymous complaints against licensed massage therapists are handled on a case-by-case basis. For
complaints against licensed therapists, it is strongly recommended that the standard complaint
procedure be followed.

Q: May I review copies of complaints and disciplinary actions taken by the Board?

A: Complaints and Board actions are all subject to the Open-Records laws in Kentucky. You may request
copies of closed complaints and/or disciplinary actions by submitting a written request to the Board
office. (Please be advised that a small fee will be charged for the cost of the copies.)

Disciplinary actions are published in the annual Board Newsletter, along with other informative, board
related information.
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OPEN MEETING ACT
Q: What is the Kentucky Open Meetings Act?

A: The Kentucky Open Meetings Act, codified as KRS 61.805—61.850, sets forth the conditions by which
the public’s business is to be conducted.

“Meeting” means all gatherings of every kind, including video teleconferences, regardless of where the
meeting is held, and whether regular or special and informational or casual gatherings held in
anticipation of or in conjunction with a regular or special meeting. KRS 61.805(1).

The law applies to every state or local government agency and groups or committees created by the
agencies. KRS 61.805(2)

Q: What are the general requirements of the Open Meetings Act?

Time and place of meetings. All meetings must be held at specified times and places which are
convenient to the public. Public agencies should provide for a schedule of regular meetings by
ordinance, order resolution, bylaws, or by other means. This schedule of regular meetings must be made
available to the public. Our Board publishes meeting dates on our website at http://bmt.ky.gov.

Minutes of meetings. Public agencies must keep minutes of action taken at every meeting which set
forth an accurate record of votes and actions taken. These minutes must be open for inspection by the
public no later than the conclusion of the agency’s next public meeting.

Public attendance at meetings. To the extent possible, meeting room conditions should allow for
effective public observation of meetings.

No person attending the meeting can be required to identify himself in order to attend a meeting.

The agency cannot place conditions on attendance of the public at a meeting other than the conditions
required to maintain order.

Since the General Assembly has not established procedural rules for the conduct of meetings and citizen
participation, each agency must adopt its own rules of procedure, but those rules cannot conflict with

the Open Meetings Act.

Policy On Sharing Board Information:

The Board speaks through its minutes and any other official written documents and no one member can
speak for the Board unless appointed by the Board to speak on their behalf. Members shall refrain from
speaking to the public in a way that may misrepresent Board actions. Board members shall refrain from
interpreting policy or talking to the public about issues that may come before the Board. Board
members may be called upon by the Board staff or counsel and in these cases, communications are
acceptable.
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ADDITIONAL ANSWERS NEEDED

Q: Where can | address additional questions?

Any additional questions may be addressed directly to the Board by emailing the Board Administrator at
Carolyn.benedict@ky.gov. You may also submit questions to the Board via standard mail. Please submit
these to:

The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 1360
Frankfort, Kentucky 40602
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